Making wine
is like telling a part of our life story.
But we need to see ourselves in the deep-rooted values of the area around us...
...to understand its natural and social environment...
...and to respect its origins and traditions.
A journey from the past to the future.
Scroll down

A journey from the past to the future.

Making wine is like telling a part of our life story

The Cantina Girlan was founded in 1923 in an ancient farmstead from the XVI century. Back then - 90 years ago - 23 winegrowers laid the foundation stones of what was later to become the winery we see today. The walls, steeped in ancient tradition, and the labyrinthine corridors of the cellar harbour the secrets of state-of-the-art winemaking  technology and hold the ideal conditions for ageing our wines. 

Today, about 200 greatly committed and motivated winegrowers and their families farm an area covering about 215 hectares of vineyards in the best production areas of Oltradige and Bassa Atesina. Our enologist, Gerhard Kofler, keeps in close personal contact with the winegrowers and provides his professional advice during the growing season. This beneficial exchange of expertise sets the foundations for producing highest quality wines. 

The grapes, entirely hand-harvested, are received according to a precise harvest calendar and gently processed according to their quality, variety and origin. Our Cantina produces three distinct wine lines: Selezioni, Vigneti and Classici.

Wines

The unique characteristics of our vinicultural environment mean we produce unmistakable wines, with a clear-cut character and strong personality, relished for their fresh minerality, their clear structure and authenticity.

Discover
Cantina Girlan

The Ganger Monopole Site

Discover

Terroir

When speaking of terroir, the focus is on the key role of the soil. Nevertheless, the term does not only refer to the vineyard's soil properties.

Discover

Einen Wein
zu erzeugen ist ein Teil der eigenen Geschichte...
061-kellerei-girlan-2011.jpg
Doch dafür ist es nötig, sich in
tief verwurzelten Werten wiederzuerkennen ...
home_slide_2.jpg
...die unser Gebiet kennzeichnen, sein natürliches und gesellschaftliches Ambiente zu verstehen...
home_slide_3.jpg
... und seine Ursprünge und
Bräuche zu wahren.
home_slide_4.jpg
Eine Reise aus der Vergangenheit
in die Zukunft
Scroll down

Reise aus der Vergangenheit in die Zukunft

Einen Wein zu erzeugen ist ein Teil der eigenen Geschichte

Die Kellerei Girlan wurde 1923 in einem historischen Bauernhof (aus dem 16. Jahrhundert) gegründet. Damals legten 23 Weinbauern den Grundstein für unseren heutigen Betrieb. Hinter diesen traditionsreichen Mauern und in den weitverzweigten Kellergängen verbergen sich moderne Kellertechnologie und optimale Lagerbedingungen für unsere Weine. 

Heute sind es rund 200 Winzerfamilien, die ca. 215 Hektar Weinbaufläche in den besten Weingütern des Überetsch und Unterlandes, mit viel Engagement und Motivation bewirtschaften. Unser Kellermeister Gerhard Kofler pflegt einen engen und persönlichen Kontakt zu den Weinbauern, und berät sie während der Vegetationsperiode. Dieser Erfahrungsaustausch ist eine sehr wichtige Grundlage für unser Streben nach höchster Qualität.

Ausschließlich handverlesene Trauben werden nach genauem Leseplan angenommen und nach Qualitätsstufe, Traubensorte und Herkunft schonend verarbeitet. Unsere Weine werden in drei unterschiedlichen Qualitätslinien vermarktet: Selektionen, Weingüter und Klassische Weine.

Sortiment

Die einzigartige Beschaffenheit unseres Terroirs ermöglicht es uns, unvergleichliche Weine herzustellen, mit ausgeprägtem und eigenständigem Charakter.

Entdecken

Terroir

Wenn man von „Terroir“ spricht, gibt man dem Boden eine zentrale Rolle. Aber der Begriff umfasst längst nicht nur die Bodenbeschaffenheit eines Weinberges.

Entdecken